Toll free: 877.868.1369

InSinkErator Badger 5 1/2 HP Garbage Disposer

Item#: ISEBADGER5
InSinkErator Badger 5 1/2 HP Garbage Disposer
View Larger Image
Shown in Waterbourne Grey Enamel
$130.99
InSinkErator Badger 5 1-2 HP Garbage Disposer 4.6 5 1281 1281
Started leaking from the bottom. We've been in this house for just a couple years. Not sure when the badge 5 was installed. It's clogged up fairly easy on a semi regular bases. Now it started leaking straight out the bottom next to the reset button. On some factory punched hole. Not just a little drip but a full steam of water. No warning and not used heavy. Extremely disappointed. October 11, 2014
Disappointed with this product I have the badger 5 plus 7, which came with our home that was built in 2007. It hasn't even been 8 years, but woke up this morning to find that this product was leaking like crazy. Not just a few drips here and there, but leaking just as fast as the water drained from the sink. This was surprising since we always throw food scraps in the garbage and just rise the plates clean. The leak is from the bottom, and all the plumbing to and from the unit show no leaks whatsoever. It's a shame because my parents have had another name brand unit for nearly 15 years with no trouble at all. October 9, 2014
Another Badger5 leaking from the bottom Our Badger 5 (model 5-81A) was installed in 2004 when the house was built, and a few days ago my wife noticed water dripping out from the cabinet. She thought it was from the faucet, but to her surprise, water was leaking out from the bottom of the garbage disposer. It seems that this has been going on for some time because we could notice that the particle board in the cabinet is showing sings of water absorption. I am surprised it has failed so soon as it doesn't get used but only a few minutes every day if that much. Most of the time it is off. October 6, 2014
Yet another Badger leaking from the bottom We have a Badger (#insinkerator 5-81a) that was installed when our house was built in 2007. I was less than pleased today to spend most of my morning cleaning after I discovered that our disposal had developed not a drip, but a full on leak whenever water went down the drain and thus, had been base under my cabinet (perhaps for a week) with some sewage smelling liquid. The leak seems to be from the edge of the casing surrounding the electrical cord. Very disappointed since the nearly 20 year old disposal in my old house is still working famously. September 24, 2014
Unexplained leaking from bottom Like so many other reviewers, our 9 year old Badger 5 started leaking from underneath yesterday for no apparent reason. All connections good, never abused. I guess they're just not built to last forever. I reluctantly purchased another Badger 5 for ease of replacement figuring I wouldn't spend another 9 years in this house, but if it was a new installation, I probably would have looked for an alternative. September 21, 2014
Badger 5 Plus 7 We also have a leak problem with our Badger 5 Plus 7. It is 10 years old. The unit and the pipes appear to be in excellent shape but obviously there is a problem. We think it might be the fly wheel but we don't know. September 14, 2014
ALSO LEAKING FROM THE BOTTOM... Insinkerator in general is pretty commonplace and I have seen and used them in numerous homes without issue. Unfortunately for this one, following suite of the other reviews, mine has also started leaking from the bottom. Was looking to replace in-kind, but seeing the number of reviews that are experiencing the same leak is making me reconsider. With minimal use, it worked fine for us up until it started leaking. Expected it to have lasted much longer. September 13, 2014
Good Value, Price and Dependability My previous disposal was an InSinkerator unit, so I compared various makes and models - the Badger 5 seemed like a good deal. One caveat being that it was the first time I had ever replaced a garbage disposal, and it seemed to be a daunting task. The directions were fairly straight forward, however. And the installation was a success! It has been almost a year since I bought the Badger 5 and have not had any problems. Quiet running. Good Value, Price and Dependability September 12, 2014