Toll free: 877.868.1369

InSinkErator Badger 5 1/2 HP Garbage Disposer

Item#: ISEBADGER5
InSinkErator Badger 5 1/2 HP Garbage Disposer
View Larger Image
Shown in Waterbourne Grey Enamel
$130.99
InSinkErator Badger 5 1-2 HP Garbage Disposer 4.6 5 1279 1279
Another Badger5 leaking from the bottom Our Badger 5 (model 5-81A) was installed in 2004 when the house was built, and a few days ago my wife noticed water dripping out from the cabinet. She thought it was from the faucet, but to her surprise, water was leaking out from the bottom of the garbage disposer. It seems that this has been going on for some time because we could notice that the particle board in the cabinet is showing sings of water absorption. I am surprised it has failed so soon as it doesn't get used but only a few minutes every day if that much. Most of the time it is off. October 6, 2014
Yet another Badger leaking from the bottom We have a Badger (#insinkerator 5-81a) that was installed when our house was built in 2007. I was less than pleased today to spend most of my morning cleaning after I discovered that our disposal had developed not a drip, but a full on leak whenever water went down the drain and thus, had been base under my cabinet (perhaps for a week) with some sewage smelling liquid. The leak seems to be from the edge of the casing surrounding the electrical cord. Very disappointed since the nearly 20 year old disposal in my old house is still working famously. September 24, 2014
Unexplained leaking from bottom Like so many other reviewers, our 9 year old Badger 5 started leaking from underneath yesterday for no apparent reason. All connections good, never abused. I guess they're just not built to last forever. I reluctantly purchased another Badger 5 for ease of replacement figuring I wouldn't spend another 9 years in this house, but if it was a new installation, I probably would have looked for an alternative. September 21, 2014
Badger 5 Plus 7 We also have a leak problem with our Badger 5 Plus 7. It is 10 years old. The unit and the pipes appear to be in excellent shape but obviously there is a problem. We think it might be the fly wheel but we don't know. September 14, 2014
ALSO LEAKING FROM THE BOTTOM... Insinkerator in general is pretty commonplace and I have seen and used them in numerous homes without issue. Unfortunately for this one, following suite of the other reviews, mine has also started leaking from the bottom. Was looking to replace in-kind, but seeing the number of reviews that are experiencing the same leak is making me reconsider. With minimal use, it worked fine for us up until it started leaking. Expected it to have lasted much longer. September 13, 2014
Good Value, Price and Dependability My previous disposal was an InSinkerator unit, so I compared various makes and models - the Badger 5 seemed like a good deal. One caveat being that it was the first time I had ever replaced a garbage disposal, and it seemed to be a daunting task. The directions were fairly straight forward, however. And the installation was a success! It has been almost a year since I bought the Badger 5 and have not had any problems. Quiet running. Good Value, Price and Dependability September 12, 2014
Clogs continuously I installed this 4-6 years ago and had no problems until the last 1-2 years. I put almost nothing down this disposer as it continues to clog so often. September 10, 2014
After 6 years has developed a leak on bottom. Like the review dated 07/28/2014, Today my Badger 5 started to drip around the bottom. Have checked drain line and it is clear and disposal is running. Purchased this unit in July 2009 while renovating house and was installed by a Licensed Plumber. We use it a couple of times a day, on average. I am fixing to call the Plumber to see what needs to be done. This cost will be at least $80.00 Service Call, plus any parts or new unit. Unless you can suggest anything that I might safely checkout. August 26, 2014