Toll free: 877.868.1369

InSinkErator Badger 5 1/2 HP Garbage Disposer

Item#: ISEBADGER5
InSinkErator Badger 5 1/2 HP Garbage Disposer
View Larger Image
Shown in Waterbourne Grey Enamel
$130.99
InSinkErator Badger 5 1-2 HP Garbage Disposer 4.5 5 1290 1290
Another Leaker We have a Badger 5-81A garbage disposal unit that came with our new home in 2006. As many others have stated, today we found out that the unit has been leaking water out the bottom. Luckily, my wife was storing some of our cleaning products in a tub that extened undernearth the Badger and all the water was contained by the tub. As others have stated, we are extremely disappointed in the short life of this unit, yes 8 years to us is an unacceptable wear out lifetime. Jessica I have already sent an email to insinkeratorfeedback@emerson.com noting our displeasure. December 3, 2014
Clogs easily and leaks we have used the badger 5 for a few years as it was already installed in the house we bought. Has always been extremely loud, doesn't grind certain items well, gets clogged and most recently started to leak from the bottom which seems to be a common theme with this model. Getting annoyed and not wanting to keep worrying about using it ended up buying the the evo excel and installed it tonight so far seems amazing hopefully will last. The badger 5 though I can safely say is a piece of junk. November 17, 2014
Cracks and leaks, made of plastic Product 8-51a installed about 4 years ago. Unit flooded my cabinet with a crack in the side. Siliconed it to hold for a bit. Now 2 months later it is leaking from the bottom. Any company who builds a unit to crack and leak within a few years should not be using such materials. Never will buy another product from this company November 8, 2014
Leaking from the bottom after very little use Wife used it after a party and it took a dump... leaking form the bottom November 5, 2014
Cracked After 6 Years In April 2008 my plumber installed a Badger 5-81A which worked fine for most of the time although it never did accept coffee grounds without clogging. A couple of months ago I had a leak under the sink. Thinking it was the faucet my son replaced some parts. Still had the leak so when my plumber came out to grind out some tree roots in my main line I had him take a look. He said it was the faucet so I bought a new one. While waiting for him to come back to install it I bought a new dishwasher. It was installed and I told him about the leak. He put his phone at the back of the garbage disposal, took a picture, and to our surprise it had a crack all the way down the back with what looked like rust at the edges. Today I came to the website to research a new disposal and read the many reviews about this model leaking. Now I don't know what to do and what to buy. I'd like to speak to someone at Insinkerator for some advice. November 3, 2014
Leaking from the bottom I had a five year old disposer, which suddendly had water leaking from the bottom. It was from the black "reset" button. After searching the cause on the internet, it can not be repaired and a new one have to be replaced. But I will not buy badger 5 anymore, especially so many reviews here pointed out the defects. October 25, 2014
Another leaker We moved in our new home in feb 2009 and today we found water all over the cabinet along with obvious damage from the leaking. I will install a new unit but it will not be Ensinkerator brand. New cabinet and disposal are required. October 24, 2014
Badger 5 plus leaking from the bottom Yes, as other reviews noted, this model started leaking from the bottom suddenly. It is only 8 years old, and we didn't even use it very often. Don't know yet if it can be fixed... October 14, 2014