Toll free: 877.868.1369

InSinkErator Badger 1 1/3 HP Garbage Disposer

Item#: ISEBADGER1
InSinkErator Badger 1 1/3 HP Garbage Disposer
View Larger Image
Shown in Waterbourne Grey Enamel
$113.99
InSinkErator Badger 1 1-3 HP Garbage Disposer 4.5 5 454 454
Fair unit but starting to fail. June 2013 I bought my house and installed was a Badger 1 garbage disposal. It didn't look too old and seemed to work okay but about six months after moving in I noticed it started to whine and occasionally jam up altogether. I'm not talking hard pieces of food, but just usual stuff you would throw in it. more often than not I have been getting a noise like a failing bearing, and figure it's just a matter of time before it goes out altogether. I hope it lasts for a while longer, as I can't afford to replace it but after reading complaint after complaint on In sinkerator products I will have to either get a deal too good to pass up, or think long & hard before buying one. Quality, cost, and reviews guide me to purchasing a product, and in the case of this brand the constant negative reviews make me doubt the quality, as I don't want to replace the product a couple years after installing it. November 29, 2014
Poor Quality The product is poor quality and poor design. The plate above the motor is metal and it rusted through causing water damage to my cabinet and the ceiling below the cabinet. I wish I could give it a rating of 0 stars. November 27, 2014
Flywheel seal began to leak water from bottom of unit As I now see from a recent poster, I'm not the only one with the flywheel seal leaking. I replaced the last unit 5 years ago. Although I've no custom cabinetry, the small leak provided water damage to the wood beneath the sink (how often does one go under there anyway?). There is a small drip coming from the bottom of the unit from an inner seal and is not listed in the unit diagram. Understandably so, this is a sealed unit, so one would not expect to have to replace an inner seal; however, it would be much more helpful to know how to fix rather than spend another $75-$80 on the same unit as a replacement. As I've had no other issues with the unit, I'd still recommend Insinkerator; however, the leaking seal was hopefully addressed by the manufacturer and corrected. November 23, 2014
Flywheels commonly fails after 5 or 6 years. The product worked well for about 6 years and then I noticed water in my custom cabinet coming from under the Insinkerator 500. The water did some damage and warped the wood. I researched the problem and found that a seal inside the unit (flywheel seal) very often fails allowing water to drain out of the bottom of the unit. It appears that this is a design flaw or possibly built in obsolescence since there are a great many blogs on this issue. I purchased another of the same and hopefully the company has corrected the problem. I am saving the old unit and will try to find a replacement seal to fix as a backup unit. No luck finding the seal so far. I find it odd that it does not show on the parts diagram... October 8, 2014
Watch out for rust-- We have had our Badger 1 for a while. We seldom used it much, because it seemed to jamb easily with things that should have been easy to grind. Now there is a worse problem. When investigating a water leak under the sink, we found that the Badger 1 has popped several rust holes in a line around the unit. It is spraying water, and has made a huge mess of our cabinets. You would think that a machine made to have water running through it would be designed not to fail this way. Calls to several plumbers have brought estimates of around $350 to replace the unit with another Badger 1. We are retired, and cannot afford this. We are also concerned about another Badger 1 having the same issue. We are NOT happy customers- and we've used ISE disposals for a very long time. I'm looking for alternatives--- September 19, 2014
excellent quality and price. Reliable excellent quality and price. Reliable for a family of 4. February 21, 2014
@ Star Rating This disposal is noisier than my old one, and we don't like that it's so wide open that silverware easily falls into it far too often. Our old one had a more closed mouth than this one. January 23, 2014
Easy to Install and Reliable So Far This basic disposer was very easy to install and is performing well (light user). The only negative is the fact it does not come with an electrical cord - not a major issue since cords are easy to purchase but from my view it's lame that you have to purchase it separately. January 1, 2014